Home > News > 30th Annual Montague-Center for Teaching Excellence Scholars Award

30th Annual Montague-Center for Teaching Excellence Scholars Award

Date:   9/23/2020


The Center for Teaching Excellence (CTE) is proud to announce this year’s Montague-CTE Scholars.  2020 marks the 30th year that this distinguished honor in teaching excellence has been awarded.

The Montague-CTE Scholars Award is named in honor of Kenneth Montague ’37, a distinguished alumnus and outstanding trustee of Texas A&M University Development Foundation, who had a long and storied career in the Texas oil industry. Ken and Judy Montague endowed a generous gift in 1991 to benefit the future “Ken Montagues,” Aggies who are life-long learners and contributors to their communities. The Center is deeply grateful to his son, Jim, and wife, Vicki, for their generous and continued support that recognizes excellence in teaching and learning at Texas A&M University.

The Montague-CTE Scholars Award is given annually to one tenure-track assistant professor from each College, based on their early success in and passion for teaching undergraduate students. Awardees receive a $6,500 grant to encourage further development of teaching excellence. This award has been granted to more than 279 faculty.

Janie Moore, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering
Alejandro Borges, College of Architecture, Department of Architecture
Daniel Bowen, College of Education & Human Development, Department of Educational Administration & Human Resource Development
Matt Pharr, College of Engineering, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Katie Shamberger, College of Geosciences, Department of Oceanography
Defne Över, College of Liberal Arts, Department of Sociology
Jon Stauffer, Mays Business School, Department of Information and Operations Management
Jonathan Sczepanski, College of Science, Department of Chemistry
Sargurunathan Subashchandrabose, College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Department of Veterinary Pathobiology
Cassia Bömer Galvao, Galveston Campus, Department of Maritime Administration
Congratulations to the 2020-2021 Scholars! 

For more information on the Montague-CTE Scholars program, please visit the Center’s website at CTE.TAMU.EDU or contact smacwillie@tamu.edu.