Home > Featured Programs > Aggies Celebrate Teaching!

Aggies Celebrate Teaching!

Aggies-Celebrate-Teaching-logo-20170310-med.jpgRecognizing Transformational Learning

 The Center for Teaching Excellence is excited to host the first annual Aggies Celebrate Teaching! – Recognizing Transformational Learning reception. The event is a time for us to acknowledge outstanding Texas A&M faculty members who, through their dedication to transformational practices, have made a significant impact on the student.

                “Teaching that encourages students to question assumptions and challenge beliefs… such that they emerge
                from the experience with a changed perspective influencing interactions and contributions to a modern world.”

                                                                                           - Dr. Debra Fowler, Director of the Center for Teaching Excellence

The Center for Teaching Excellence will highlight faculty and their transformational teaching strategies in various ways - sharing on our Facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/TamuCTE/), highlighting on our web site (cte.tamu.edu), and showcasing a few at our Aggies Celebrate Teaching! event, to be held in the Spring of 2018

Texas A&M students will be invited to nominate faculty who have made an impact on them - inspiring change in their thinking, challenging them to think in new ways, or supporting their learning in a way that transformed their educational experience through a call for nominations that includes a 1000-1500 word essay.

Aggies Celebrate Teaching!, an invitation-only event, will feature six students chosen from all responses. Selected students will be given 5 minutes to share their transformational experience and their professors' impact on their education. The professors will also be given 5 minutes to share comments and their perspective on transformational teaching practices. Each selected student, who fulfills the Terms of Submission (see below) will receive a $500 education grant and their nominated faculty member will receive a $1,500 professional development grant.
Please check back later for more information!